The Beauty of Wisdom: Happy Birthday Mom <3

According to the bible wisdom is a great treasure that we should all seek to have in every circumstance. He tells us that if we ask for wisdom he will give it to us. Wisdom is like the pruning shears that God uses to cut away the parts of our life that will harm us, but not only does Godly wisdom protect us, it helps us grow to our fullest potential. I found that wisdom in my mother and all the advice, teaching and correction she has given me over the years.

My mom has always sacrificed so much to teach myself and my siblings wisdom in the ways of God. She has been wise enough to know, through the Holy spirit, when to let us make mistakes and when to catch us before we fall. From her I have learned that mistakes – though painful and time consuming – can be the best teachers and can even be beautiful if we look to God and his plan.

“Rest,” is one of my mom’s favorite words because we are both so awful at it. We are so similar in our perfectionism and easily stressed personalities that “rest” can be a rare thing for us to embrace, if we even choose to embrace it at all. Nevertheless when I’m overwhelmed or over worked my mom still finds a way to take some of the load or force me to take a sit down. Many times she has proven the words of Jesus when he said, “You can do all things.” She has shown me in those moments that no matter how much I might have on my plate I still have many avenues open to get it completed. From “many hands make light work” and “Jesus is your strength” to “taking a ten minute break can do wonders for the soul” she has shown me how I can change my work ethic from being exhaustive to being peaceful.

Even though I haven’t taken all her lessons to heart she never ceases to continually teach me. Whether she has to lay that nugget of wisdom inside me one time or one million times she never gives up on the idea that I will someday understand and grasp it with all I am. She has devoted her entire life to each of us. Somehow she loved us enough to place within our lives her every dream and every breath. For some reason even when we drive her crazy we mean the world to her.

I think that my favorite thing about my mom and the lesson that she has taught me most without ever saying a word. Her everyday actions of love, teaching, discipline, kindness and peace as she home schools all six of her children have proven that with Christ within us we can live the life full of the love that is described in 1 Corinthians 13. My mother’s love has been life changing for me and if she didn’t live so very close to her heavenly father as she does I could never be where I am. She is just like the woman of wisdom and piety that Proverbs 31:10 describes, “Who can find a virtuous woman? For her price is far above rubies.”

One thought on “The Beauty of Wisdom: Happy Birthday Mom <3

  1. We are made in the image of a creative God. He has given each of us gifts and talents along with options for choosing how we will spend our time. Our Lord is pleased when we enjoy His gifts—just as we are pleased when our children enjoy the gifts we have given them, for birthdays or at Christmas. Using what God has provided (those things He has planned for us “to will and to do for His good pleasure”) is integral to working out our own salvation. Our Eternal salvation was irrevocably accomplished for us at Calvary. But, in the words of Francis Schaeffer, “How do we then live?” is largely decided by our choices.

Leave a Reply

